Oops. (I did it again.)

Let over a month go by without an update. It’s not that I don’t do anything cool or worth writing about, it’s just that life in between vacations is a bit routine. Which isn’t to say it’s boring. I have a blast.

So how have things been? Well, the big news of course is that I GOT A JOB. For next year. In ANDORRA. That’s right, I’m staying! Andorra can’t get rid of me. I’ll be working at one of Andorra’s private language academies, teaching mostly teens and adults. I’m pretty excited about it – the school seems really cool, with great resources and a really interesting program. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it from students and teachers alike, so I think it’ll be a great experience. I have to go through getting a residence permit from immigration all over again, but at least this time I know what I’m doing (sort of).

immigrants.gif

I’ll start work in August, which means my trip home this summer is a bit short – probably just about 5 weeks. I’m excited to get back to the US and see everyone, but I’m also really excited for a second year here… I’m living the dream! No but really, since I was about 16 the dream has been to live abroad long-term, and I’m making it happen! Dreams really do come true, guys. So you could say I’m very happy these days.

whatlikeitshard

We recently (2 weeks ago) had a week long break – our last! I spent the weekend hanging out in Andorra and relaxing (Isa and I donned bikinis and hung out on her terrace in 59 degree weather because it has been a long winter!). Monday through Wednesday, I spent in Vic rock climbing… I’m not very good at it, but I had a lot of fun! And I didn’t sustain any injuries, so I take that as a win.

itried.gif

That Wednesday night, my BFF Kelsey and her sister Andie arrived! We hiked up to Engolasters on Thursday (it’s the easiest/shortest hey-look-how-pretty-Andorra-is hike) and spent Friday in Ordino (Andorra’s cutest little parish, I think) before heading to Barcelona for the weekend. Sadly, Kelsey left on Sunday and I headed back to Andorra.

School last week was nothing too exciting. Wrapping up the year consists of a lot of practice and review, which is nice because I get to see how much my students have learned! And then Jess, my best friend since middle school, arrived on Friday!

Friday night we went out for tapas, and then Saturday we did a hike in Sant Julia, followed by spending the evening watching the Champions League final at a sports bar (Madrid won! YAY!). Being in Europe for the Champions League final was a BLAST – people were very into it, and after the win, they were driving through the streets honking in celebration. Obviously, Andorra is pretty Catalan so the majority of people are Barcelona fans here, but there were some Real Madrid fans out and about. It reminded me a bit of Baltimore after the Ravens won the Superbowl a few years ago.

13327498_1015829018452425_9036942361524285800_n13256011_10205883690231275_1338563020189447617_n

Sunday, we hiked up to Engolasters. The end of the hike, it started to rain, and we ended up spending some time in the cafe at the top waiting for it to stop. It didn’t, really, so we eventually headed back down in the rain. We had a relaxing night in, and then spent Monday morning souvenir shopping. I had meeting Monday afternoon, and after we went out for dinner and then watched Game of Thrones at a bar that shows it in English before getting drinks with some friends. Jess left this morning, which is sad. I miss her already!

I only have about 4 more weeks of work, and 5 weeks from today I’ll be back in the US. Time flies! Crazy, huh? I’m just relieved to be staying – I wouldn’t be ready to say goodbye to Andorra for good yet!

(Also, Andorrans are surprised when I say I’m staying because I love Andorra, and well, let’s just say… If I had a boyfriend for every time I’d been asked if I’m staying because of some Andorran boy, I’d be dating half the country!)

Leave a Reply

